FB Recs 7/17/2017

Today I asked by Facebook friends to reccommend some new music to me and not to my surprise, they are listening to some pretty awesome stuff. Thanks guys! I was not going to review any of it because I’m buttslammed at work but…screw it. I’ll do short ones for as many as I can before I leave work  pass out tonight FINISHED ALL OF THEM.

SZA-Ctrl: Heard this. Really like it. Read about it here. Ya got good taste Chris.

Toro y Moi-Boo Boo: This album is really pleasant. Instrumentals relying heavily on synths and boomy electronic drums give way to an atmospheric yet groovy album with a slightly 80s vibe. The male vocals fit nicely in its appearances. Thumbs up, perfect for work. Thanks Verb.

Chairman Maf: Didn’t get a specific album recommendation so I just checked out the project 1976. It’s really smooth and well put together. The UK producer uses a ton of samples from older music and I enjoyed it. Some of the clips were hilarious and I found myself smiling along with the music. Unfortunately, the project seems to stagnate because you understand Chairman’s style. This is probably just my feelings toward beat tapes or instrumental hip hop in general but I don’t know what I’m expecting so it may be unfair. I’m moving on 9 of 16 songs in but I’m pleased. Thanks Dan.

The Frightnrs-Nothing More To Say: So far this has probably been my favorite of the day. I’m not super familiar with Reggae but this was wonderful. It was like reggae doo-wop. Laid back and appropriately seasonal. Apparently this is called rocksteady, originating in Jamaica (duh) but these dudes are from NY and this was released last year. At first I thought that one of the lead vocals was a woman but I’m wrong. Either way, the singing, lead or background was awesome. Many thanks Bob.

Christian Scott-Diaspora: I was aware my bold statement that I made in the previous blurb had the possibility of being short lived. I just love Christian Scott’s music so much. I was unaware that this project was released and I’m glad I listened to it. Some things of note: Diaspora is less masturbatory, which in itself is unfair, but more ethereal and experimental. Christian Scott has always been ahead of the curve with his material and this album is no different in the fact that it is different. At many points in the project, Scott himself takes a backseat in either the mix or to a healthy dose of flute. I loved it even though the end may have gotten a little sleep…but that could’ve been me. Thanks Matt.

Beach Fossils-Somersault: I didn’t give this album the fair one. Well the first half had my full attention and then I got dumb busy again. It’s very pleasant and the band just seems to do things better than other Indie bands. A very good bass player is the backbone to this summery melancholy experience. “Tangerine” is a standout for me. I can imagine friends frolicking through a field at about 7 pm on a warm August day. I may have to revisit this. Once again, thanks Matt. 2/2.

Theo Katzman, Flaming Warhorse, Kimbra: This friend was trolling. Theo Katzman is great and is part of funk group Vulfpeck. Nothing but positives but we just talked about him together a couple days ago. The song “Break up Together” was discovered at a hilariously bad time. I’m in that one band (SHAMELESS PLUG, GO CHECK IT OUT). I love Kimbra with all my heart. She’s incredibly talented and at this point I’m just waiting for new album………….Kimbra?? Where’s it at?? Hey now, Seann.

The next couple people listed a bunch of people, I’ll talk briefly about them and if I know them I may expand upon them:

Smino: I knew this name sounded familiar. I rocked with his album blckswn heavy earlier in the year. He sounds like music that my brother loves, I like it to but not relentlessly as him. Smino has a cool voice and does even cooler things with it at some points during this project. Listening back to it now after some time, it is still really good. The production and singing just work so well together.

Amir Obè: At this point, there are just so many Frank Ocean clones that I’m just glad that some of them can actually make good music. I’m listening to None of the Clocks Work and honestly it’s great. Unfortunately, it’s like there are tropes that these young R&B singers flock to and I can’t help but think “Frank did that on Channel Orange like 5 years ago.” It is good though. Dude has a nice voice and the production is crisp. The song titles are capitalized so docking points for that. I’m getting a feel for this person’s tastes with these last two recommendations…I see you Grace.

Saba: Chicago rapper, dope flow. His first project, ComfortZone was bumped daily when I was in college. Soulful production that was fresh to me at the time and Saba’s flow/voice put this kid on the map for me. I haven’t listened to his latest project but it is now on the list.

Aminé: String of singles with the highlight being “Caroline”. He’s on the rise and I feel like I’m more impressed with young rappers that aren’t doing mumble rap or trap music. Listening to all these awesome singles though and I’m looking forward to a album to see if he can do a coherent project of solid songs.  Once again, Fb friends showing their butts. Grace, I could make a playlist for you based on these last couple recommendations. “West side nigga”

Statik Selektah: This was boring. He recently released a track with 2 Chainz and Wiz. It was boring. Average hip hop beats and whatever verses but the guests. On to the next.

Pell: He’s cool, rapper/singer. Nothing too special. *Shrugs*

Big Boi-BOOMIVERSE: I love Big Boi. Sir Luscious Left Foot got mad play around the time it was released. I remember using “General Patton” being used as my alarm for such a long time. Looking back at the track list, I have nothing but fond memories of nearly every song being good. BOOMIVERSE is like the most southern album I’ve heard in awhile. Skits, Gucci and Sleepy Brown features and random hilarity make this project pretty enjoyable despite random electronic tracks. Big Boi’s flow is still so inventive and awesome that he makes some questionable bars sound good.

She also mentioned Anderson .Paak but this isn’t the post to gush about how good he is…but he’s great. Seriously. Go listen to all of his music.

There was another set of recs from another girl but I’m done with this thing and kinda wanna listen to 4:44 (again) and Calvin Harris for the rest of the day.

To not be a complete dick though, Rag’n’Bone has a really nice voice and should not be judged on his appearance. Kaleo is band not a person, so that was nice to learn. Blues/rock, lead singer with a fitting voice. Thumbs up. Finally, I haven’t listened to Lumineers outside of “Ho Hey” but I have nothing against them and their most recent single, “Angel” ain’t bad.

Just saw the word count and realized that I wrote this for no reason. Therefore, I will not be editing this. Thanks friends for some really good suggestions, I’ll probably do it again in a couple months.

 

 

Leave a Reply

