No, Kimbra You’re My Favorite Pasttime

So this entry shouldn’t really count but screw it.  This song has been in my rotation for years now and is the most played song I “own”.  It, along with like 3 other songs, is in a special God-tier of songs that I will never get tired of.

I love this song so much and I’ve decided to write about it now because yesterday at the library, it was reconfirmed how incredible I think this song is.  Also that godforsaken Drake song is still stuck in my head…

WAIT, TIMEOUT: The video for Bastille’s “Pompeii” is weird *turns channel*

OK…sorry about that, back to Kimbra.  “Vows,” the debut album, is an excellent project from top to bottom; literally every song is good.  It was even re-released with six more songs and those songs were even better.  Over the years I have grown to absolutely adore this tiny Kiwi woman.  She cites The Mars Volta (R.I.P.) as an influence on her music and that made me an even bigger fan (TMV in my top 5).  She seems to genuinely love everything she does and throws herself into her work 100%.

Isn’t she the girl from that Gotye song?” Yes, shut up.

ILoveThisWoman

“Uh, hey writer man, what’s the song?” Sshhh, I’m getting there.

“Something In the Way You Are” is so absurdly good that it’s almost unfair to the rest of the album.  The instrumental is pretty much a repetitive percussion pattern combined with a simple bass line which could be considered the melody.  On top of this, there is a decent amount of ambient keyboard diddling (seriously Justin? Diddling).  When the chorus rolls around the bass line falls away and starts to complement the piece more akin to a live band rather than a loop.  So with the rather simple music, what elevates this song to the next level of pure awesomeness?  Easy: the vocal performance.  In the midst of my fanboyness (not a word) I forgot to mention that this girl can flat-out sing…like forreal.  Kimbra KILLS this song; even the background vocals are great and do a really good job of filling up and filling out the song.

I don’t know, I love this song so much and should probably be able to articulate better why you should play this song everyday but alas I cannot.  So just listen to it:

Leave a Reply

